History of the AMSJ

Thursday 29th April, 2010

  • Official launch of AMSJ, at the Lowy Cancer Research Centre at UNSW

Thursday 8th April, 2010

  • Inaugural issue goes to print

Tuesday 9th March, 2010

  • AMSJ Facebook group reached 2500 members, and continues to grow rapidly

Tuesday 23rd February, 2010

  • Final short-list of articles for 1st issue decided

Sunday 21st February, 2010

  • Full staff meeting

Monday 25th January, 2010

  • Process of author feedback for inaugural issue begins

Sunday 24th January, 2010

  • Full staff meeting

Tuesday 19th January, 2010

Tuesday 5th January, 2010

  • Cover design competition launched for inaugural issue

Friday 11th December, 2009

  • Peer review of academic articles for the inaugural issue began

Wednesday 4th November, 2009

  • Full staff meeting

Sunday 1st November, 2009

  • Submissions closed for the inaugural issue.

Monday 19th October, 2009

Friday 16th October, 2009

  • AMSJ established accounts with Commonwealth Bank

Friday 2nd October, 2009

  • AMSJ started recruiting expert peer-reviewers
  • UNSW MedSoc kindly provided financial support for establishment of the AMSJ

Wednesday 30th September, 2009

Saturday 26th September, 2009

  • AMSJ posters distributed at the NSWMSC Sports Day

Friday 25th September, 2009

Wednesday 23rd September, 2009

  • AMSJ registered with Australian Business Register (ABN: 51967802511)

Wednesday 16th – Saturday 19th September, 2009

  • Publicity tour of Victorian Universities (Melbourne, Deakin and Monash)

Tuesday 15th September, 2009

Wednesday 9th September, 2009

  • AMSJ promoted to the 80 delegates at the AMSA National Leadership Development Seminar in Canberra

Friday 4th September, 2009

  • Presidents and AMSA representatives from all Australian medical societies contacted regarding the AMSJ
  • AMSJ covered as a top story on the popular medical news website, 6minutes.com.au

 Thursday 3rd September, 2009

Wednesday 2nd September, 2009

  • Start of postering campaign at UNSW

Tuesday 1st September, 2009

  • Opening date for submissions for first issue of AMSJ
  • Presentation by AMSJ Executive Directors at UNSW MedSoc Council Meeting
  • AMSJ website received 897 pageviews for the day
  • First submission received

Monday 31st August, 2009

  • AMSJ mentioned by the Dean and promoted at the UNSW Faculty of Medicine Dean’s Lecture series, ‘Medical Inventors, Innovators & Entrepreneurs – Challenges In A Global Market’

Monday 24th August, 2009

 Tuesday 18th August, 2009

  • First full-staff meeting held

Wednesday 12th August, 2009

  • AMSJ allocated print and online ISSNs

Wednesday 6th August, 2009

  • amsj.org listed on Google search

Monday 27th July, 2009

  • amsj.org domain registered

Saturday 11th July, 2009

  • AMSJ website created

Wednesday 1st July, 2009

  • AMSJ logo designed

Friday 22nd May, 2009

  • First contact with the UNSW Faculty of Medicine made regarding the idea of a student medical journal

April, 2009

  • Student medical journal idea conceived