Australiasian Students’ Surgical Conference (ASSC) collaboration with the AMSJ

The AMSJ is proud to announce a partnership with the upcoming Australiasian Students’ Surgical Conference (ASSC).

Australasian Students’ Surgical Conference (ASSC), June 30, 2012.
“Australasian Students’ Surgical Horizons”
UNSW Main Campus, Kensington, Sydney, Australia.

This inaugural conference is open to all Australian and New Zealand medical students and JMOs and will feature poster and oral presentations.
The abstracts from this exciting venture will be published in an online supplement of the AMSJ.

Abstact submission details:
Abstract submissions for podium and poster presentations are now open and will close by midnight (EST) on 7 June 2012. There will be prizes and publications!

For more details, please visit:

About the ASSC
The ASSC is fully endorsed and supported by the UNSW Medical Faculty, and is presented by the UNSW Surgical Society. It will feature a keynote address from the President of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons about the surgical training pathway, speeches by leading surgeons from each of the nine surgical specialties, and student research presentations. Delegates will also have the opportunity to attend surgical skills workshops. It promises to be the highlight of the student surgical calendar!

Speakers include:
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons President, & USYD Professor of Surgery, Professor Michael Hollands
UNSW Dean of Medicine, Professor Peter Smith
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Chair, Board of Surgical Education and Training, & UNSW Senior Lecturer, Dr Phil Truskett
UNSW Professor of Surgery, Rhodes Scholar & 1979 Bledisloe Cup Wallaby Winner, Professor Phil Crowe
Australia & New Zealand Journal of Surgery Editor-in-Chief & USYD Foundation Professor of Vascular Surgery, Professor John Harris
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons first Indigenous surgeon, & UNSW Associate Professor, Professor Kelvin Kong
Sydney Children’s Hospital Head of Paediatric Surgery, RACS Paediatric Surgery Examiner, Dr Guy Henry
2010 NSW Australian of the Year, Founder of the Cure for Life Foundation, founding Director of the Centre for Minimally Invasive Neurosurgery at the Prince of Wales Hospital, & UNSW Associate Professor and Neurosurgeon, Professor Charlie Teo

Delegate registration will be $10, and will be available online soon: